Scale RC Forum Forum Members’ Builds Newbies Corner FTX Outback 2 Suspension

This topic contains 10 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Jimplops 1 week, 4 days ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

JPK81
    • Looking For Mud

Hi all,

I’m very new to crawling and am in need of some assistance. I recent the economy root and purchased a FTX Outback 2 crawler. My Outback seems a bit light on the weight side and I feel the springs on the shock are too stiff for the vehicle. With all this in mind, what would be your suggestions for: a) replacement parts for the suspension, b) adding weight to the vehicle, c) improving the turning circle?

Cheers.

FTX Outback 2 Ranger

Grasshopper
    Grasshopper
    • Scale Off Road Pro
    • ★★★★★★

Hey JPK81,

I’ve not had direct experience of the FTX Outback 2 but they look like a good entry-level unit. Generally with most new trucks the suspension may take some time to ‘bed’ in – if the shocks are oil-filled then maybe try taking some/most of it out to aid the stroke travel? Also I have seen people cut the springs down slightly or just replace with softer springs to save the cost of four complete new shocks.

With adding weight to the vehicle I would look at Retrocosm’s great sticky on wheel weights, as it’s important to keep weight as low as possible. After adding wheel weights to my trucks I was blown away with how much they improved the driving experience.

Regarding the turning circle, unless you can get aftermarket CVD’s for the FTX axles I don’t think anything will help with that – scaler’s with fully locked axles are notoriously bad at turning due to the lack of diff action.

Maybe someone with more knowledge of the FTX’s could chime in with better advice, that’s all I’ve got!

Axial SCX10 Dingo    RC4WD TF2 Hilux     RC4WD G2 D90     WPL C14

JPK81
    • Looking For Mud

Hi Grasshopper,